Friends of the Museum

The Verein August Macke Haus e.V.

The house that was home to August Macke from 1911 to 1914 and whose top floor provided him with his first and only studio was rescued from being "gutted" and converted into a tavern in 1988 by the initiative of the Bonner Kunstverein directed by Dr. Margarethe Jochimsen. 

With the help of the state of North-Rhine/Westphalia and a sponsor, the city of Bonn purchased the house in June of 1989. 

Since the city of Bonn was unable to take on the responsibility of appropriately caring for the house as a memorial site, the municipal authorities suggested that interested individuals establish an association dedicated to operating the house as a historical monument and research center. 

The Verein August Macke Haus e.V. (August Macke House Association) was established on 26 September 1989 in the artist's then run-down studio, above all through the help of retired Sparkasse Director Bernd Thewalt, former Sparkasse Director Michael Kranz, the Director of the Bonner Kunstverein, and twelve additional members. 

The purpose of the Association is to ensure the preservation of the memory and the work of August Macke and the Rhineland Expressionists; to repair and maintain the house and the former studio of August Macke as a museum; to collect documents, works, and the estates of artists who were part of the Rhineland Expressionist movement; to conduct research on Rhineland Expressionism and the Modern movement in the Rhineland; to stage exhibitions and prepare documentation; and to hold appropriate events.

Donation Account
Konto Nr. 18879
BLZ 370 501 98
Sparkasse KölnBonn

IBAN DE52 3705 0198 0000 0188 79 

The Association pursues cultural and scholarly objectives and is a not-for-profit entity. 
» Download the Association's statutes under Satzung des Vereins

Individuals or corporations may become members of the Association. 
» Download application at Antrag auf Mitgliedschaft

Students, pupils, and young trainees – 10 EUR
Individuals – 60 EUR
Couples – 100 EUR
Companies, institutions – 250 EUR

Executive Board
Hermann Neusser (President) 
Dr. Ines Knauber-Daubenbüchel (Vice President) 
Horst Kallenberg, Dr. Helmut Neumann, Rolf Raddatz, Wolfgang Stollfuß

Management  Dr. Klara Drenker-Nagels

Registered under: VR 5932 at the District Court of Bonn